Sesame Care Review: Is It Legit?

Sesame Care review: brand-name GLP-1 care from $149/mo plus the drug, the pharmacy it uses, FDA warning letters and complaints. See if it's legit.

Last updated Oct 3, 2026
Quick answer

Sesame Care is an online GLP-1 program that prescribes both brand-name and compounded medication: Wegovy, Zepbound, Ozempic, Mounjaro. Plans start at $149 a month. We rate it 8.4/10 (Good). It does not name the pharmacy that fills its prescriptions. It ships to all 50 states. Compounded drugs are not FDA-approved. No FDA warning letter is on file for Sesame Care as of Oct 3, 2026.

Good · 8.4Brand-name and compounded

Sesame Care (Sesame Health) is an online doctor marketplace with a weight-loss program on top. You book a video visit with a provider you choose, and if a GLP-1 fits, they prescribe a brand-name drug that you pay for separately. It suits people who want Wegovy, Zepbound or Ozempic from a doctor they pick.

We rate it 8.4 out of 10, tier Good. Every price is on a public page, the terms are easy and the FDA record is clean.

The catch is the total. The $99 program fee and the medication are two separate charges.

Sources149
$149
per month, from

No FDA warning letter on file for Sesame Care as of Oct 3, 2026, in the FDA’s published warning letter list.

Sesame Care homepage
It’s for you if
  • You want a brand-name GLP-1 from a doctor you choose.
  • You have insurance that covers the drug, or can pay its cash price on top of the $99 fee.
  • You already have a pharmacy you trust.
  • You want FDA-approved products and a low visit cost.
It’s not for you if
  • You want one monthly price with the medication included.
  • You want compounded semaglutide or tirzepatide.
  • You want Mounjaro at a program price, since Sesame lists none.

What is Sesame Care?

Sesame Care is a marketplace where you book a doctor directly and pay a flat price. Success by Sesame is its weight-loss program, built on top of that.

Here is how it goes. You pick a provider from the list and book a video visit. If a GLP-1 is appropriate, that provider writes the prescription. The drug does not come from Sesame. The prescription goes to your local pharmacy, or to LillyDirect for Zepbound. You pay the pharmacy for the medication and Sesame for the care. Refills work the same way, through follow-up visits and messages.

The menu is brand-name only: Wegovy as a weekly pen or a daily pill, Ozempic, Zepbound and Mounjaro. There is no compounded option. To understand the drugs themselves, start with our pages on semaglutide and tirzepatide.

Sesame serves all 50 states. Labs are covered at Quest Diagnostics, except in AZ, HI, ND, NJ, NY, OK, RI, SD and WY, where you pay the lab yourself.

Sources4101216

Is Sesame Care legit?

Yes. Sesame Care is an established telehealth company with a large provider network, LegitScript certification and no FDA warning letter. Its prescriptions go to a retail pharmacy you choose, the same path as a prescription from any doctor's office. The drugs are brand-name products, not compounded copies.

The one gap is traceability. Sesame names no pharmacy on its pages, so there is none to match to the FDA register. For brand-name drugs filled at a retail pharmacy, that matters less than it does for compounded programs, where the pharmacy makes the drug itself. Zepbound has a named channel: LillyDirect, the manufacturer's own pharmacy.

Every drug page names the drug, its form and its FDA-approved use, so you know what you are being prescribed before you book.

Sources121012

How much does Sesame Care cost?

Price from
$149 / mo
Medication
Billed separately
Membership fee
$99
Consultation fee
None
Shipping
Not disclosed
Insurance
No

You pay two bills. The drug starts at $149 a month for the Wegovy pill at its entry dose. The program is $99 a month on top. There is no consultation fee and no lab fee.

The drug side depends on what you are prescribed. Zepbound vials through LillyDirect cost "$299/mo for 2.5mg dose", then more at higher doses. Mounjaro has no program price. Sesame says that "Without insurance, the price of Mounjaro pens can range from $1,050 to $1,300 per month, depending on your pharmacy."

The program side is simpler. Success by Sesame is $99 a month on a monthly plan, or "as low as $59 per month" on a 12-month plan.

Over three months, the entry-dose pill costs $447 and the program fees add $297. That fee load is 66% of the drug cost. Even so, on month-to-month drug prices Sesame ranks 3 of the 15 programs in its group, where the median is $199 a month. For scale, a pharmacy pays $871.12 for a Wegovy 1.7 mg pen package, effective September 23, 2026. That is an acquisition cost, not what a patient pays.

Sesame Care semaglutide price

Semaglutide comes in three forms, each with its own cash price. The Wegovy pill is "$149 per month for the two lowest doses (1.5 mg and 4 mg) and $299 per month for the higher doses (9 mg and 25 mg)." The Wegovy pen is "$199/mo. for first two months (new Wegovy patients only), then $349/mo after".

Ozempic is $349 a month at the 0.25 mg, 0.5 mg and 1 mg doses, and $499 at 2 mg. New self-pay patients can pay $199 a month for their first two Ozempic fills, but the page gives two end dates for that offer: June 30, 2026 and December 31, 2026. Add the $99 program fee to each.

Does Sesame Care take insurance?

Sesame does not bill insurance for its weight-loss program, so the $99 monthly fee is out of pocket. The drug is different. Your prescription goes to a pharmacy, and your plan can cover it there. Sesame says "If you have health insurance, both Wegovy injections and pills can cost as little as $25/mo., depending on your plan."

That makes Sesame a good fit if your insurance covers a GLP-1 and you want a fast visit. Without coverage, you pay the cash price for the drug plus the program fee. Sesame states nothing about HSA or FSA cards on the pages we read.

MedicationPlanPer monthMedication cost
Mounjaro
Injection
MonthlyNot disclosedBilled separately
Ozempic
Injection
Monthly$349
first month $199
Billed separately
Wegovy
Oral tablet
Monthly$149Billed separately
Wegovy
Injection
Monthly$349
first month $199
Billed separately
Zepbound
Injection
Monthly$299Billed separately

Last read Sep 21, 2026 from our price audit. The page we read

What to watch

Medication cost is separate and not included in visit fee.

Does Sesame Care have a discount code?

No public code appears on the pages we read. The discounts Sesame does offer are built into the prices. The 12-month plan cuts the program fee from $99 to as low as $59 a month. New Wegovy pen patients pay $199 a month for their first two months instead of $349. New self-pay Ozempic patients get the same $199 rate on their first two fills, with an end date the page states two ways.

Insurance is the biggest discount on the drug, down to $25 a month where your plan covers it. Be wary of coupon sites that list a Sesame promo code. Check any code against the price at checkout before you pay.

Sources910

How does Sesame Care work?

The care is a doctor relationship, not a chatbot. You choose your provider and have a first video visit. Then come follow-up video visits, unlimited messaging, and an app that tracks diet, exercise and sleep.

The site advertises "10K+ board-certified providers" across every specialty, and the weight-loss program sits inside that network. Prescribers include doctors, nurse practitioners and physician assistants, with supervising-physician rules that vary by state. Your provider decides whether a GLP-1 or another medication fits your health.

Labs are ordered online where your state allows it. Where it does not, Sesame's concierge team helps you find a lab and covers a one-time annual cost up to $65. Sesame does not state how fast you get your first weight-loss visit.

Sources14916

Is Sesame Care safe? FDA status and warning letters

Sesame Care has no FDA warning letter and no open flag on its record. Its record is clean. There is nothing against a pharmacy either, because none is named, and the drugs are brand-name products filled at retail pharmacies or LillyDirect.

The safety questions are about the drugs, not the program. Sesame's drug pages tell you to contact your provider if you notice certain symptoms on a GLP-1. For side effects, doses and who should not take these drugs, read our semaglutide and tirzepatide pages, which quote the FDA labels.

Sources1212

How to cancel Sesame Care

Cancellation
Cancel anytime
Money-back guarantee
Full refund if you cancel at least 3 hours before the initial visit start time. No refund for the first month once the initial visit has occurred.

You can cancel Sesame Care at any time, and no plan carries a minimum term. The refund rule is simple. Cancel at least 3 hours before your first visit and you get a full refund. Once that first visit has happened, the first month is not refunded.

Two traps to avoid. The $59 rate is a 12-month plan, and the terms do not say what happens if you leave it early, so ask before you commit. Sesame also sells a separate general membership at $10.99 a month. It is not the weight-loss program, so make sure you cancel the right one.

Sources49

From Sesame Care’s terms page, read on Oct 8, 2026. Read it

What customers say about Sesame Care

Sesame publishes 18 patient reviews across its home and drug pages. Speed is the main theme. Patients write about a visit within the hour, a prescription sent to the pharmacy during the call, and a visit that cost less than they expected. Several praise the provider they picked for listening and not judging.

They say little about the drug prices or the program fee. These are the brand's own published reviews, and this site collects no independent reviews. Read the cost section above for what you will pay.

Sources1
“The BEST thing I’ve ever done for my life and health! Seeing the weight start to come off gave me the confidence and mental pick-me-up to get back into the gym. I cannot say enough good things about how this program has changed my life.”

On Sesame Care’s website

“I can't recommend Dr. Chacon enough! She has been instrumental in my weight loss journey, helping me shed over 50 pounds.”

On Sesame Care’s website

“The doctor I selected did not judge me and made me feel like a human being. I had a regular doctor who ignored my weight concerns for years. What this doctor did for me in one day made me very happy.”

On Sesame Care’s website

“I felt heard, supported, and cared for throughout the visit.”

On Sesame Care’s website

“My practitioner genuinely listened to me, took the time to understand my weight goals, and considered my overall health—not just one aspect of it.”

On Sesame Care’s website

“My weight loss journey has been an amazing transformation. With Wegovy, I am now weaning off of it and able to maintain my weight loss.”

On Sesame Care’s website

How we scored Sesame Care

Price transparency scores 8.6 at a 20% weight: every price is public and held on re-read, and only shipping is unstated. Cost and value scores 7 at a 15% weight: rank 3 of 15 helps, the 66% fee load hurts. Traceability scores 6.5 at a 15% weight: no pharmacy is named. Clinical care scores 8.6 at a 15% weight: the visit model is clear, the wait time is not.

Safety scores 10 at a 20% weight: no letter, no flag, a clean record. Terms score 10 at a 10% weight: cancel anytime, refund rule stated. Availability scores 7 at a 5% weight: all 50 states, but no shipping cost or speed.

Since our last check, price transparency rose from 8.31 to 8.6 and availability fell from 8.25 to 7. The total holds at 8.4. The weights are on our methodology page.

Sources12491116
glp1.health score8.4 / 10
Good.Medium confidenceScored Sep 21, 2026
Dimension0–10Weight
Price transparency8.3120%
Cost and value715%
Medication and pharmacy traceability6.515%
Clinical access and oversight8.615%
Safety and enforcement1020%
Terms, commitment and refunds1010%
Availability and fulfilment8.255%

The Check is the evidence. The Score is what we conclude from it, on the weights the methodology publishes. Commission is not an input.

Sesame Care alternatives

The three cheapest programs that serve the same need, with the price difference against Sesame Care on every card.

Collective homepage
Collective$59
8.9 / 10 · per month, from
Verified-$90/mo vs Sesame Care

Compounded semaglutide at $59 a month and tirzepatide at $69, the same price at any dose, plus a $199 annual membership

Read the reviewVisit Collective
SnagRx homepage
SnagRx$69
9.3 / 10 · per month on a 12-month plan, from
Verified-$80/mo vs Sesame Care

Flat GLP-1 pricing that does not rise with your dose: $69/mo on the 12-month plan, $99/mo month to month

Read the reviewVisit SnagRx
Embody homepage
Embody$69
9.2 / 10 · per month on a 12-month plan, from
Verified-$80/mo vs Sesame Care

Personalized GLP-1 care with 24/7 specialist support from $69

Read the reviewVisit Embody
Questions

Sesame Care FAQ

Yes. Sesame Care is an established telehealth company with LegitScript certification, a large provider network and no FDA warning letter.1 It prescribes brand-name drugs that you fill at a pharmacy. The one gap is that it names no pharmacy. More in the legit section.

The program is $99 a month, or as low as $59 on a 12-month plan.9 The drug is a second bill, from $149 a month for the Wegovy pill at its entry dose.11 Every price is in the cost section.

No telehealth program is FDA approved; the FDA approves medications. Sesame prescribes only brand-name drugs, such as Wegovy, Ozempic, Zepbound and Mounjaro, and those are FDA approved.10 It sells no compounded drug. Its record holds no FDA warning letter.1

Yes. Sesame serves all 50 states.16 Lab coverage differs by state: in AZ, HI, ND, NJ, NY, OK, RI, SD and WY, you pay the lab facility yourself.4 Your prescription goes to a pharmacy near you.

No public code appears on the pages we read. The discounts are a 12-month plan from $59 a month and a $199 rate on the first two months of the Wegovy pen for new patients.10 See the discount section.

The Wegovy pill is $149 a month at the two lowest doses.11 The Wegovy pen is $199 a month for two months, then $349.10 Ozempic is $349 a month at most doses.9 Add the $99 program fee to each.9 See the cost section.

Not for the program: the $99 monthly fee is out of pocket.9 Your insurance can cover the drug at the pharmacy. Sesame says Wegovy can cost "as little as $25/mo., depending on your plan."10 More in the insurance section.

Sesame does not use one pharmacy. Your provider sends the prescription to a retail pharmacy you choose.16 Zepbound vials are filled through LillyDirect, the manufacturer's own pharmacy.12 Sesame names no other pharmacy on its pages. More in the legit section.

Prices, terms and claims in this review come from Sesame Care’s own website, read on Oct 3, 2026. We verify prices and the FDA record, not promises. Customer quotes are the ones Sesame Care publishes; we do not collect independent reviews. Numbered sources are listed below.

Sesame Care
$149 / mo
Visit Sesame Care
Related pages
Data sources · cited with retrieval dates
  1. 1.
    Sesame Care home pageThe program’s own site, quoted verbatimSesame Careretrieved Oct 3, 2026↩“Material Stethoscope Icon 10K+ board-certified providers Whatever you need, there's a doctor for it.”
  2. 2.
    Sesame Care pricing pageThe program’s own site, quoted verbatimSesame Careretrieved Oct 3, 2026↩“Without insurance, the price of Mounjaro pens can range from $1,050 to $1,300 per month, depending on your pharmacy.”
  3. 3.
    Sesame Care how-it-works pageThe program’s own site, quoted verbatimSesame Careretrieved Oct 3, 2026
  4. 4.
    Sesame Care terms pageThe program’s own site, quoted verbatimSesame Careretrieved Oct 3, 2026↩“Monthly Membership Services Subscription : The Monthly Membership Service is currently priced at $10.99 a month and consists of the following features:”
  5. 5.
    Sesame Care websiteThe program’s own site, quoted verbatimSesame Careretrieved Sep 19, 2026
  6. 6.
    Sesame Care websiteThe program’s own site, quoted verbatimSesame Careretrieved Oct 3, 2026
  7. 7.
    Sesame Care websiteThe program’s own site, quoted verbatimSesame Careretrieved Sep 19, 2026
  8. 8.
    Sesame Care websiteThe program’s own site, quoted verbatimSesame Careretrieved Sep 19, 2026
  9. 9.
    Sesame Care websiteThe program’s own site, quoted verbatimSesame Careretrieved Oct 3, 2026↩“The Success by Sesame subscription starts as low as $59 per month and includes telehealth visits, unlimited messaging, a prescription for Ozempic or another GLP-1 (if appropriate) and ongoing clinical care from a provider of your choice.”
  10. 10.
    Sesame Care websiteThe program’s own site, quoted verbatimSesame Careretrieved Oct 3, 2026↩“If you have health insurance, both Wegovy injections and pills can cost as little as $25/mo., depending on your plan.”
  11. 11.
    Sesame Care websiteThe program’s own site, quoted verbatimSesame Careretrieved Oct 3, 2026↩“Cost for self-pay patients : The maintenance dose for the Wegovy oral tablet ($299 per month) is $50 less than the maintenance dose for Wegovy injections ($349 per month).”
  12. 12.
    Sesame Care websiteThe program’s own site, quoted verbatimSesame Careretrieved Oct 3, 2026↩“$449/mo for 7.5mg, 10mg, 12.5mg, and 15mg doses”
  13. 13.
    Sesame Care websiteThe program’s own site, quoted verbatimSesame Careretrieved Oct 3, 2026
  14. 14.
    Sesame Care websiteThe program’s own site, quoted verbatimSesame Careretrieved Sep 19, 2026
  15. 15.
    Sesame Care websiteThe program’s own site, quoted verbatimSesame Careretrieved Sep 19, 2026
  16. 16.
    Sesame Care websiteThe program’s own site, quoted verbatimSesame Careretrieved Oct 3, 2026↩“Material Check Icon Cash-pay GLP-1 medications as low as $149/mo”
  17. 17.
    Sesame Care websiteThe program’s own site, quoted verbatimSesame Careretrieved Oct 3, 2026
  18. 18.
    CMS NADACNational Average Drug Acquisition Cost, weekly fileCMSretrieved Oct 7, 2026↩

NADAC figures are pharmacy acquisition costs, not retail prices and not what you will pay. This content is educational and is not medical advice.